- The Pass Rate Reality: What's Actually Published
- CAS Exam Mechanics That Shape Outcomes
- Where Candidates Struggle: A Domain-by-Domain Look
- Fee Structure and the Retake Reality
- Who Actually Sits for the CAS Exam
- A CAS-Specific Preparation Timeline
- The Renewal Factor and Long-Term Standing
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ECFC does not publicly disclose a candidate pass rate for the CAS exam, despite plenty of third-party speculation.
- The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions, a 3-hour limit, and a 60% passing threshold.
- Access to the exam is allowed within 120 days of purchasing the course-and-exam package, per the current designation page.
- A retake costs $90 - far less than the original $574 member / $1,024 non-member package.
The Pass Rate Reality: What's Actually Published
If you're searching for a specific CAS pass-rate percentage, the direct answer is that one hasn't been made public. The Employers Council on Flexible Compensation (ECFC), through its Flexible Compensation Institute (FCI), administers the Certified COBRA Administration Specialist exam, and neither the current designation page nor the certification FAQ publishes a candidate pass rate. Anyone citing a precise number for this particular credential is either guessing or importing a statistic from a different certification that happens to share the "CAS" acronym - a mistake worth watching for, since several unrelated credentials use the same three letters.
What we can responsibly report is the data that is verified: a 75-question, multiple-choice exam, a 3-hour time limit, and a 60% minimum score to pass. Scored-versus-unscored question splits are not disclosed, so every question on the form should be treated as consequential during your review.
For a broader look at how examinees describe the experience qualitatively, see How Hard Is the CAS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026, which focuses on structural difficulty factors rather than invented statistics.
CAS Exam Mechanics That Shape Outcomes
Pass-rate outcomes are downstream of exam mechanics, so understanding the mechanics is more useful than chasing a rumored percentage. Here's what the current ECFC certification FAQ and designation page confirm:
- Format: 75 total questions, multiple choice.
- Time limit: 3 hours.
- Passing threshold: at least 60%.
- Access window: the exam must be accessed within 120 days of purchasing the course-and-exam package.
- Delivery: administered online through ECFC/FCI; no external testing vendor has been verified.
Details that remain unverified - and that you should not assume - include whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted, whether proctoring is live or automated, and whether the test adapts to performance. Rather than guessing, build your prep assuming a closed-book, strictly timed environment; that's the safer default. For exact passing-score mechanics, see CAS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Key Takeaway
With no public pass-rate figure, your best predictor of success is mastery of the four study-course sessions plus disciplined time management across 75 questions in 3 hours - roughly 2.4 minutes per question if you work steadily.
Where Candidates Struggle: A Domain-by-Domain Look
ECFC has not published a weighted blueprint for the CAS exam, so no verified percentage tells you how many questions come from each content area. What we do know is the four domains the credential is built around, and anecdotally these are the areas where candidates report the most friction:
Domain 1: COBRA: Mergers and Acquisitions
Tests how COBRA obligations transfer, split, or terminate when companies merge, get acquired, or divest business units.
- Identifying which entity becomes the "successor" plan sponsor
- Handling qualifying events triggered mid-transaction
Domain 2: COBRA: Alternative Coverage and Retiree Issues
Covers how COBRA interacts with alternative coverage options and retiree health arrangements, a frequent source of administrative error.
- Coordinating COBRA elections with other available coverage
- Understanding retiree-specific continuation scenarios
Domain 3: COBRA and Other Laws
Examines how COBRA intersects with other federal and state statutes governing group health coverage.
- Spotting where COBRA rules are overridden or supplemented by other law
- Avoiding compliance gaps at the intersection points
Domain 4: COBRA Case Studies
Applies COBRA rules to realistic administrative scenarios rather than isolated fact patterns.
- Working through multi-step qualifying-event timelines
- Translating regulatory language into administrative action
For a deeper walkthrough of each domain with study tactics specific to it, read CAS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas. Because the mergers-and-acquisitions and other-laws domains require you to juggle multiple regulatory frameworks at once, many candidates find these two areas take longer to internalize than the retiree-issues material, even though none of this is officially weighted.
Fee Structure and the Retake Reality
Pass-rate conversations can't be separated from cost, because the financial stakes of a failed attempt shape how seriously candidates prepare. The indexed ECFC course-and-exam package runs $574 for members and $1,024 for non-members - note that this is a bundled price covering the four-session study course plus the exam itself, not an exam-only fee. A retake, if needed, costs $90.
| Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Course + exam package (member) | $574 | Includes 4 study sessions and exam access |
| Course + exam package (non-member) | $1,024 | Same bundle, non-member rate |
| Retake fee | $90 | Applies if initial attempt is unsuccessful |
| Prerequisite COBRA credential | Extra cost | Not included in package price |
Because current checkout details couldn't be independently inspected at the time of research, treat these as the most recently indexed figures rather than a live quote - confirm directly with ECFC before budgeting. For a complete cost breakdown including the prerequisite credential, see CAS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Who Actually Sits for the CAS Exam
The Certified COBRA Administration Specialist credential targets professionals already working in or adjacent to COBRA administration - benefits administrators, HR compliance staff, third-party administrator (TPA) employees, and consultants who need to demonstrate specialized command of continuation-coverage rules. Eligibility isn't open to just anyone: candidates need a prerequisite COBRA credential, must pay for and complete the four-session CAS study course, and then sit the exam. Separate degree or work-hour requirements beyond that haven't been verified, so don't assume additional gatekeeping exists until ECFC confirms it.
If you're unsure whether you currently qualify, walk through CAS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify before registering for the course. For a plain-language overview of what the letters even represent in this context - important given how many other "CAS" credentials exist - see What Does CAS Stand For? and CAS Meaning.
Employers hiring for CAS-credentialed roles tend to value the designation as a signal of COBRA-specific fluency rather than general HR knowledge. If you're mapping the credential to career outcomes, CAS Jobs and CAS Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis go into more depth on that angle.
A CAS-Specific Preparation Timeline
Generic study tricks won't move the needle much on a 75-question, domain-specific exam like this one. What helps more is sequencing your review around the four CAS domains and the issuer's own four study-course sessions, since those sessions are the closest thing to an official curriculum ECFC provides.
Mergers and Acquisitions
- Work through successor-sponsor scenarios
- Build a checklist for qualifying events during a transaction
Alternative Coverage and Retiree Issues
- Compare COBRA elections against alternative coverage paths
- Drill retiree continuation edge cases
COBRA and Other Laws
- Map where other statutes intersect with COBRA obligations
- Note the points where COBRA rules get overridden or supplemented
Case Studies and Timed Practice
- Run full-length timed practice sets under a 3-hour limit
- Review every missed case-study question for the underlying rule
For a session-by-session study plan built around this same structure, see CAS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. If you want a condensed reference to review the week before your exam, bookmark CAS Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts, and run timed practice sessions on our practice test platform to simulate the pacing of a real attempt.
The Renewal Factor and Long-Term Standing
Passing isn't the end of the story - the CAS credential carries a 3-year validity period, and maintaining it costs continuing-education effort plus a renewal fee. Here's where the published guidance gets inconsistent: the current CAS designation page states six renewal CE units are required per three years, while the current ECFC certification FAQ states twelve. No dated update clarifying which figure supersedes the other has been verified, so the responsible move is to confirm directly with ECFC before assuming either number applies to your renewal cycle.
Renewal fees are more clearly stated: $150 for members and $300 for non-members, according to the current designation page. Factor that recurring cost into your long-term view of the credential's value - a topic covered more fully in Is the CAS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Key Takeaway
Don't just plan for exam day - plan for the renewal cycle. Confirm the actual CE requirement (six or twelve units) with ECFC directly, since the two official pages disagree.
Frequently Asked Questions
ECFC has not publicly disclosed a candidate pass rate for the Certified COBRA Administration Specialist exam. Any specific percentage circulating online is not sourced from ECFC's current designation page, study program page, or certification FAQ.
The exam consists of 75 multiple-choice questions, to be completed within a 3-hour time limit, according to the current ECFC certification FAQ.
At least 60% is required to pass, per the current designation and FAQ pages. See CAS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass for more detail.
A retake costs $90, which is substantially less than the original $574 member / $1,024 non-member course-and-exam package.
The current CAS designation page allows exam access within 120 days of purchasing the course-and-exam package. Older third-party guidance citing a 30-day window reflects an outdated rule and should not be relied on.